HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Quiltorials


Following on from my recent post The first quilt I made I wanted to share the tutorials that helped me with the tricky bits.

The patchwork itself was a combination of stacked coins (Moda Bake Shop’s Stacked Coins Baby Quilt and Teeny Tiny Quilts’ Daydreams) and another one I saw somewhere that I now can’t find, that pieced long strips of fabric together and then cut across the rows of fabric and reversed the direction of alternate strips of pieced fabric. Sheer brilliance!

I love working with fabric, but I’m impatient and always looking for a way to finish it faster.

Machine Quilting 101 from Anyone Can Quilt helped a lot with the quilting, I loved the idea of cheating with the temporary adhesive, but couldn’t find any and ended up using safety pins instead. I wish I’d read it more carefully, ‘cos I left the feed dogs up and it was hard work.

Red Pepper Quilts’ Binding Tutorial helped,  especially the “machine stitching the binding” section.

Oh, in case you’re wondering about the title of this post, I was trying to type “quilt tutorials” and looked up and had typed quiltorials instead and decided to leave it as it is just this once.

Happy quilting

Claire Bear

11 responses to “Quiltorials

  1. Pingback: Details take time.. | Dreamz Happen Quiltz

  2. Dreamz Happen Quiltz June 28, 2011 at 14:49

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I love the title!~ Quiltorials.. beautiful pictures!

  3. Willow Soliday August 8, 2011 at 21:42

    I really like your writing style, fantastic info , appreciate it for posting : D.

  4. Madsen October 7, 2011 at 11:39

    Wohh just what I was searching for, regards for putting up.

  5. Vennie Vitaniemi October 7, 2011 at 11:56

    Enjoyed reading this, very good stuff, thankyou .

  6. Pavis October 13, 2011 at 22:49

    Only a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding design .

  7. Rob Buscher June 18, 2012 at 23:58

    Wow, Just what I was looking for. Quality and finesse thanks for posting this wonderful piece of information

  8. Oatley November 12, 2012 at 02:15

    Way cool! Some extremely good tutes! I appreciate you writing this post and the rest of the site is really good.

  9. leandrones April 11, 2013 at 13:22

    Hey! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

  10. pogo April 20, 2013 at 06:07

    whoah this blog is excellent i love reading your posts. Keep up the great work! You know, a lot of people are looking around for this info, you could help them greatly.

