HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Hexalong update


Well it looks like I’ve talked myself into joining the Hexalong on lily’s quilts and on gayle brindley’s blog.

I’ve been cutting templates for the hexagons (I’m using the English Paper piecing method that I recognised it as a method I used in my teens, and no, I still haven’t found the cushion cover I made back then, although I have found some other things I sewed a long, long time ago) and I also cut 600 4 inch squares for another quilt project, and now I just hurt.

Everywhere.

In itself pain in not new (I’m doing physio for my back, have arthritis in both knees, etc.) but my hands and upper back don’t normally ache. (I’m guessing I was slumping, and that’s why my back is hurting now)

I haven’t even started cutting fabric for the hexalong yet. Mind you I have some ready cut (no, not yesterday squares, other stuff from a little while ago).

I only need about another 600 squares, and then I can start my hexagons. I’ve found some cool shapes within a hexagon form that I can stitch together to make hexagons, before I stitch the hexagons together to make the quilt.

I promise I’ll keep you posted and maybe include some photos as soon as I start stitching. By hand. More ouch.

Maybe I should look into getting voice-recognition software so I can still blog without having to use my hands to type for a while.

Ouch.

Claire

Comments are closed.

