HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

finished – one cloak, in time for a bonfire


As you may or may not know, I make costumes and cloaks as well as “little things” like hair-bands and corsages and brooches. This is my own cloak.

I don’t know why, but I’ve wanted a proper full-length cloak for ages. Mr CB and I go camping with friends a couple of times a year, and it’s really good for wrapping up in when we’re sitting chatting round a bonfire into the wee small hours. My back stays toasty-warm, my front doesn’t over-heat and when it’s spread out, it makes a good blanket overnight if the sleeping bags aren’t quite warm enough for the weather.

The pointy hood with a tassel on it? Well that’s just for fun. I mean, it’s not like I’m going to wear this walking down the street in the middle of Birmingham, is it?

A while back a very envious and supportive friend asked me to make her a cloak, no rush, in return for a favour, (she does all my graphics for me, logos, online shop banners, business cards, etc), and as she said so many very nice things about my cloak when I made it, how could I resist?

It’s been cut out ready to sew for ages. I’ve put it on the back burner (sorry, Lin, if you’re reading this) while I got other costumes finished for an event back in April, while I got the portfolio completed for my last teaching qualification and all over the summer while I got stressed over my children going of to University. Now I only (?) have the entire house to clean and pack up to move later this year, a teaching job to find (so that I can afford to move home later this year), and another teaching qualification to start, so I’m almost stress free.

I’m also seeing my friend this weekend, so it’s probably time I got this completed for her.

At least now I have cleared a path to my sewing machine… and located all the pieces for her cloak.

This is what it looked like a couple of months ago…

and this is what it looks like now…

this cloak always comes up really blue in photos, in real life it's more of a grass colour than this and yes, it has a pixie hood just like mine.

The only way I can show you this is to set this post up to publish while I am seeing my friend, so that she will have seen it first (and hopefully be very happy with it).

Nice and warm while we are all huddled around the bonfire again this weekend.

Hope you’re all nice and warm this weekend, too.

Claire Bear

me, without cloak because it was too warm, chatting with my friends in the wee small hours with my back to the bonfire (and the camera, as usual)

12 responses to “finished – one cloak, in time for a bonfire

  1. Pingback: Three-Hour Sewing Machine Basics Course | 4 Real Cheap

  2. Jason @ Gold Work embroidery October 5, 2011 at 12:46

    Cloaks are also useful for wrapping small children in who’ve forgotten their coats or didn’t want to put them on! Free cuddles included!

  3. hannekekoop October 15, 2011 at 19:49

    Beautiful. I absolutely love your cloak. Indeed, a great idea for keeping warm during camping.

  4. Pingback: WIP ~ Quilt in progress « HandmadebyClaireBear

  5. Pete November 22, 2011 at 04:31

    Very interesting topic, thank you for posting.

  6. Ish January 14, 2012 at 14:08

    Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and in depth information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  7. Tom October 7, 2012 at 01:55

    Awesome writing style!

  8. Myrna Brazan January 22, 2013 at 01:19

    Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to come back once again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  9. su tarea September 13, 2013 at 04:47

    Keep on working, great job!

