HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

I thought this was a sewing blog?


It is, it is, I promise. I just got a little sidetracked for a while and life got in the way of sewing.

Hexalong

OK, this update is slightly overdue. I have been a very bad hexalonger and not worked on my hexagon quilt for so long.

Here’s a photo of what I have so far.

I love the fabrics individually, but I’m not digging the scrappy hexes look, know what I mean? And because I don’t like how it’s working out, I’m not working on it.

actually, looking at this photo, maybe I should use this as the layout?

I think the triangles sewn into hexagons may have been a mistake.

Basically the whole thing, as a whole thing, isn’t working for me and I’m probably going to unstitch everything and start again.

What I was aiming for is something that I just found out (literally, I’m typing this in one tab on my browser and listening to the tutorial on youtube on another tab) is bargello.

If you want to know what the bargello technique is, look at these quilts.

and these

(yay to me for working out how to embed videos in my blog, don’t you think?)

I’m not quite that ambitious, but I was aiming for a “wave” of different colours. Can you imagine little hexagons of colour instead of squares and rectangles (all the same size, of course, the hexes wouldn’t fit together otherwise, even I know that)?

Help! Advice and opinions please!

Confused Claire Bear

10 responses to “I thought this was a sewing blog?

  1. jaypeg October 25, 2011 at 15:05

    I really like it! It’s silly isn’t it. I am not that into what I am doing and I just want to make a train crash one of smaller hexagons all with randomly different patterns on and you want to do the opposite. Unpicking is so depressing. Once I start something, I usually just have to see it through to the bitter end and learn my lesson. My next Hexagon effort will be more like yours!

    • Handmade by Claire Bear October 26, 2011 at 10:12

      I know it’s bizarre. Did you read the previous post-but-one about tidiness? It probably explains why I want mine to be ordered.
      Random quilts are great, but I can’t bring myself to make one! I’ll just have to sit down one day and force myself to make a scrappy quilt or something. It’ll be character building.

  2. Samelia's Mum October 25, 2011 at 21:50

    I like your triangle hexies. I’ve been playing with different paper piecing techniques too lately.

    I think your hexy quilt, would look great, Bargello style.

    Looking forward to seeing what you decide 🙂

    • Handmade by Claire Bear October 26, 2011 at 10:10

      Thanks for the encouragement. I haven’t any idea how I’m going to do it bargello-style without a lot of hexagons in the same colour. Will post as soon as I have something to show. 🙂

  3. Pingback: quiltalong? « HandmadebyClaireBear

  4. Pingback: Hexalong update « HandmadebyClaireBear

  5. Pingback: Remember this? « HandmadebyClaireBear

  6. Shaz December 20, 2011 at 18:40

    Some beautiful designs and colours, I’d love to try myself but I don’t think I would have the patience as I’m just starting out in sewing.

    • Handmade by Claire Bear December 20, 2011 at 20:26

      Thank you, Shaz. I couldn’t have thought of doing these when I had just started out either. I just try to remember that I’m in charge of the needle and it only goes where I put it, and it doesn’t matter how long it takes if the result is good.

  7. Pingback: WIPs on Wednesday « HandmadebyClaireBear

