HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Remember this?


Hexalong
Remember this from a couple of posts back?

I like subtle colour graduations in my sewing  and although I like all of these fabrics individually, I wasn’t happy with them together like this.

Well I got some time the other day and undid it all and I’m now (relatively) happy with this layout:

A couple of hexagons have been removed and the rest of the unsewn ones added. I don’t know what I’m going to make it into when it’s finished (it’s almost pillowcase size), but at least I like how it looks now.

I quite like it on the brown background too.

Stitching has now restarted. I will show you what it looks like when I’ve finished it but it’ll take a while, so don’t go holding your breath or anything will you? 😉

Claire Bear

P.S.  UPDATE: I wrote this on Friday night and saved it so that I could blog it in a couple of days’ time.  Since then I have got so much sewing done that I thought I’d show you how far I got in the 24 hours after I took the layout photo above.

I was tempted to sew it on my machine (now that I can get to it!) as I would chain-piece a larger block-based quilt, but didn’t because I thought it might be a bit too fiddly. Hang on, I thought, chain-piecing might not be a bad idea. Not a traditional way of sewing hexagons, but the traditional way wasn’t working for me, so why not?

So I did.

Each of the columns you can see in the photo above was made into a little pile, and I just worked through one pile at a time, sewing one little seam at a time.  I took time out to get the bus to Mr ClaireBear’s parents’ home for his Dad’s birthday meal, and to go to the supermarket to get a week’s worth of shopping, and I slept.

This is how far I got in 24 hrs, which represents about 5 hours of actual sewing since the last photo:

Remember in my last post when I talked about how much chaos and stress slows me down and I end up doing nothing?

Amazing how much I can get done when I’m not stressed about things.

It took 3 months to sew 9 hexagons together when I wasn’t happy about where it was going, and just 5 hours over 1 day to sew 44 hexes together once I was.

Of course, it’s still not finished, and I have no idea what I’m going to do with it. I can’t make it into a bag, pillow-case or a cushion cover, because I won’t take the strain of that kind of use.

I’ve uploaded it to my flickr account and I’m going to see what the others in Lily’s Quilts’ hexalong group have to suggest.

I might just back it and quilt it and turn it into a wall-hanging, I’ve never done a wall-hanging before, it could be my first.

Let the compliments begin 😉

Claire Bear

3 responses to “Remember this?

  1. Pingback: WIPs on Wednesday « HandmadebyClaireBear

  2. Elmir March 1, 2012 at 17:12

    My mother taught me to sew. I remember her taking me to to town to buy material. I was four and I couldn’t even see the fabric table. I had to stand up on my tippy toes. The store was in a dark, little house and the lady who ran the store used to give away small gifts to the children with your fabric purchase.Mom would make me feel the material and she would tell me what kind of material it was and how I could use it. We would scrutinize the patterns.My mother had one of those black portable Singer machines. It was loud and very, very black. I used to sit on the floor when she was sewing and play with my barbie dolls right under her feet next to the foot control. She would always sew barefoot. To this day I cannot sew with my shoes on. I always take them off before I sew. It gives me the chuckles just thinking about sewing in my bare feet just like mom. She made my school clothes and would use the leftover material to make me clothes for my dolls. I was such a tree climbing tomboy. She liked for me to wear dresses but she always made sure I had a matching pair of shorts under that dress, just in case. I will never forget her handing me that first doll outfit. I had a complete wardrobe for my doll including the wedding dress. Even Ken had his own wardrobe courtesy of mom. Mom would have quilting bees in our house. She would put on a huge pot of coffee. The women in the quilting bee would come over with home made cobbler and red velvet cake with white icing. I didn’t know what a quilting bee was at that time but I did learn how to cut templates out of discarded cereal boxes and helped hand sew two quilts. Those quilts got a lot of use.Nowadays I can look at a vintage hand sewn quilt and I can tell you how many women worked on it by the difference in the stitches. Every hand sewer has their own unique signature when it comes to hand stitching.When I got older I decided to take sewing in Jr. high. I liked it so much I took sewing classes again in high school.I made most of my own clothes until I turned 30. I admit I got tired of sewing and moved onto other things. I built dollhouses and started scrap booking. One day I realized that I was working with paper and I wanted to create something that I could wear or use.I started sewing again and I now have 2 sergers and 2 sewing machines. I am teaching myself how to sew heirloom items like christening gowns and dresses with lots of lace and batiste. I’m also sewing with natural organic fibers such as hemp and organic cotton muslin. My mother is gone now but whenever I sew I feel very close to her. It is almost like she is in the room with me. I can still hear her voice as she explains how to hand sew a quilt or add a zipper. I can still hear the sound of the motor in her sewing machine. I can still see her holding out just one more barbie outfit for me to try on my doll. I miss her so much but now I think of her when I sew and I feel grateful that I have those memories of her.Thank you for allowing me to share these moments with you.

