HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

favourite blogs – raspberry


Raspberry sews by machine like I do, but she’s got a different style and she embroiders by machine too.

In fact, it’s down to her that I started learning to stitch decoratively and not just to attach two pieces of fabric together.

You see what I mean if you look at my bags (one day I’ll get some photographed, I promise).

All her pieces are gorgeous and her photos are beautiful.I just want all of them.

Just stunning and perfect and so detailed.

Every time I read Raspberry’s blog I want to sew and sew and sew, and make beautiful things like she does.

I need to make little bags and big bags and pincushions and bunting (maybe not bunting, but maybe), but mostly I need to sit at my sewing machine and zoom.

Go see for yourself, and tell her I sent you.

Claire Bear

5 responses to “favourite blogs – raspberry

  1. thecurvyspine November 9, 2011 at 15:50

    These are beautiful 🙂

    • Handmade by Claire Bear November 9, 2011 at 16:39

      aren’t they? I’m so jealous, I want my stuff to be this good but I don’t think it is yet.

      • Arti March 1, 2012 at 10:50

        You did a great job! When I have problems finding a tread that matches all colors in a print I use invisible thread. You can get it in a darker color as well as a lighter. I use it on top and in the bobbin at the same time but usually it’s one side of the quilt etc that I need it for. Before I start sewing with it, I tape it to the sewing so it won’t get tangled up. I use a small piece of painter’s tape and tape it behind the needle. On my smaller quilts I don’t do any quilting, just a seam about 3.5 inches in from the edge. On your quilt you would want to stitch in the ditch. It would give you a nice edge of the quilt. Just make sure the quilt is ironed flat. I actually pin, iron and baste stitch around, before I stitch my seam to make sure the layers are where I want them to be. Start in the bottom, left corner, that way you can stretch the fabric if needed, to end the seam where you started. Arti

  2. Shante Delbosque January 15, 2012 at 16:34

    This is a lot of inspirational stuff. Thanks for all of your enthusiasm to provide such helpful information here.

