HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

WIPs on Wednesday


I thought you might like to know how I’ve been getting on with my bid to clear a lot of my WIPs. I got kinda tired of seeing the same things hanging around and I noticed that a few projects that I’ve blogged about were finished very quickly after blogging about them, so I now feature “WIPs on Wednesday” as a way of keeping up, keeping track, and getting them completed.

This means that I can choose a few of the worst offenders, blog them and I’ll probably have them completed by the following week.

It worked for this:

this:

and this:

So I’m hoping that this week and next I’ll be able to complete this (that I bought from Nadja Petremand on Spoonflower ages ago):

and turn it into these:

for my nephew whose baby sister is due any day now.

I want to turn this pile of fabric:

into a much larger version of the green cloak (above), but with a round “Scottish Widow” type hood instead of a pointed pixie hood.

I also want to finish this:

which is a personal upcycling project that I’ve had on the go for over a year (hangs head in shame).

This poncho was bought for me by my sister on a shopping trip meant for her. I was invited along on this shopping trip as she needed some more clothes for work and wanted a second opinion. While she was in the changing room, I kept being drawn to this poncho hanging on the rail nearby (I’m sure it was a selling tactic to hang beautiful one-size-fits-all things close to the changing rooms and sell them to patient friends). I couldn’t stay away from it, it was completely beyond my budget, but I had to keep going back to it, just to stroke it. It was gorgeous.

My sister spotted this obsession and urged me to try it on. It was still gorgeous, and it fit me!

She offered to buy it, and I took some convincing (I’m kinda independently minded when it comes to most things) but I agreed, and I took the object of beauty home with me. It’s definitely a spring/autumn thing, when I need an extra layer but a coat is too warm. I wore it as often as I could to start with, but it’s a bit itchy around the neck and as much as I love it, the itchiness won, so it’s been hanging in my room for a long time.

Last year when ponchos were “in” I decided to try it on (I’ve, ahem, grown a bit since I first had it, mostly sideways) and it was a bit short on me, so I decided to crochet a row or three onto the bottom so it would be longer, split the polo neck down the seam and add a knitted collar.

The hunt for the right yarn took a long time, the crocheting was over in a matter of a few weeks, but the knitted rectangle for the collar took months and months (I’m not a very good knitter and I lose patience with knitting in a way that doesn’t happen with sewing). It’s now been washed,blocked and pressed, and is ready to sew to the poncho to complete the upcycle and make it a favourite again. Yay! (photos of the entire thing when I’ve completed the upcycle, promise).

Other WIPs on Wednesday

6 responses to “WIPs on Wednesday

  1. Sel December 4, 2011 at 22:45

    I love your hexagons! So pretty and bright and colourful! And good luck with the upcycling project!

  2. Pingback: WIPs on Wednesday « HandmadebyClaireBear

  3. Penny March 1, 2012 at 16:57

    I am so glad I bought this set now that you have given me an idea of what to do with it! I knew the story behind the signs and now I will make one for my great-grandson using your kind of layout which I never would have thought of ever finding train track fabric. Thanks so much, I am not a quilter either, usually just make rag quilts, but this one I just might try. I always seem to need inspiration to get started on anything and you have given that to me. Hugs and blessings, Penny D. in Pigeon Forge, TN

