HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

WIPs this Wednesday


So, usually I would be posting about my WIPS (aka, my to-finish list) today, but it’s been a busy week.

I’ve Mr CB and I have been disassembling both of the kingsize beds that are both broken, to replace them with a 6 foot bed (think two single/twin beds side by side) that I got from Ebay for me, and a futon sofa that pulls out to just about take a 5 ft wide mattress for my son (who had the other kingsize on account of he’s too tall for a normal double or single bed).

This has taken a while to pull everything apart, dispose of it all, vacuum up the dust and put everything (the new ones)  together. While there was no bed in my son’s old room, I took advantage of the space to rip down some old paint that had bubbled when we had a leak from the shower in the room above, and repaint (it now looks perfect). Plus we visited a friend who is recovering from surgery to remove an embolism, and squeezed in a lightening quick visit to my sister’s as she is about to pop with her 2nd child any minute (my 2nd niece, I also have 3 nephews).

Needless to say, with my son coming home from Uni today and my daughter coming home this weekend, I needed to clear out some space for them to sleep. Especially as we have been clearing out the contents of the loft into my daughter’s old room to make ready for the loft insulation guys coming  next week.

A bit busy, so I haven’t had a chance to keep track of my WIPs.

Normal service will be resumed on Friday, in the meantime here is a post from about 6 months ago (I think)

Look, actual sunshine in the photo! By the way, the bag that I mention below, is still on my to-do list

Have a good week

Claire Bear

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A STACK OF IRONING

I shopped and I washed and I hung it out to dry, and the weather was still sunny, so I thought “I’ll take some photos, so I have a visual record of what I bought, not just a written description and a load of receipts.”

lots of pretty colours, and some plants that might not have survived the winter

Can you see my obsession fascination with colour?

I mean, who stacks their ironing in colour order like this?

I see this and I think “There’s a lot of pinkness in there and quite a lot of blue as well”. I love the dark purply-pinks. I have a few friends who are very into teals and turquoises, so I guess I bought it all with them (and me) in mind really.

Not all of it’s destined to be flowers and brooches and little pretty things.  Some of it (you see that mix of spring-type colour there in the pile on the right, and the green check bottom left, and maybe that deep blue with the splash of green in the middle ?) is going to be tote-style shopping bags that fold away into a little self-contained pouch to put in your pocket or handbag, all ready for when you buy stuff and don’t want those boring and ugly plastic carriers cutting into your hand.

I need a shopping bag that has a handle that’s long enough to go over my shoulder if I want, but short enough that I can carry it in my hand if I need without it catching on the ground. I need a shopping bag that isn’t only good for shopping. I want a shopping bag that doesn’t look like a shopping bag, I want one that looks good and colourful and makes people say “I love that bag, where did you get it?”.

I mostly make things with myself or close friends and family in mind.

If you see anything you like, message me and I’ll make something with you in mind too.

Thanks for popping in.

2 responses to “WIPs this Wednesday

  1. Jamie February 10, 2012 at 13:38

    Greetings! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

