HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

WIPs on Wednesday (that I couldn’t show you last week)


Now that all my presents have been given out, I can show you some of the stuff that I have been working on.

An apron for my Mum, specially requested in fabric that I thought I only had in little bits, I was glad to find a large piece at the bottom of the pile.

Some braces (suspenders) for my Dad, made from the back of the legs of the jeans that my son has grown out of (and washed thoroughly, in case anyone is thinking “euw”). I only had to buy clips.
I had a bit of a problem finding a tutorial for these, they all seemed to be for children not adults and elasticated, not plain fabric.  Also, I’m allergic to buttonholes.

I looked at this pattern from Simplicity  (and I do mean just looking at the picture not the actual pattern, if I’d had the pattern, I’d have been laughing!) and this explanation from E-How and then worked it out on my own, but I did cut out two sets of denim pieces just in case. I also looked at this tutorial from Simple Simon, this tutorial from Running with Scissors and this tutorial from Me Sew Crazy as well. They are all for children, but a kid’s tutorial was better than none at all. It’s going to be a long time before I recover from making these, but eventually I will make some more and then I’ll take photos for a tutorial. Probably.

A lined mini tote for each of the women in my family.

The Russian doll one in front is for my sister-in-law who lived in Russia for a little while before marrying my brother (I saw the cotton-linen-mix fabric on eBay and had to get it). Three of them have the same outer fabric, two have the same linings, all are gorgeous (even if I do say so myself) and I’m feeling very proud of myself right now (can you tell?). Also, my SIL went “Aaaah! Matryoshka! I love this bag!”

(And one for me too)

Lined mini totes with proper squared off bottoms, big enough to take a book and a snack. My first attempt at totes with a gusset (although I’ve made them in my head so many times). They worked out pretty well, don’t you think?

The tutorial from Teresa Down Under helped a lot, especially the straps and the bottom corners (you can see that I didn’t use patchwork or put in a ruffle). I’ve seen a lot of tote tutorials, and I’ve put off making them for ages, but in the end it only took two hours to make all four of them (and I swear that half of that time was spent ironing/pressing the fabric) .

All of them are made the same way, with drop in linings (basically, make two identical bags, turn one of them the right way out, then drop the inside-out one inside the other one , top stitch around the top, catching the handles as you sew and Bob’s your Uncle!)

There are a load of mini tote tutorials on You Tube as well…

…pages and pages of them. Sometimes it’s easier to watch someone else do it.

Go on, have a try yourself, a mini tote doesn’t take much fabric, and I managed to make all 4 and only had to pull out some of the stitching on the first one, the others went together fine and know I know how to sew mini totes!

Proud Claire Bear

4 responses to “WIPs on Wednesday (that I couldn’t show you last week)

  1. Pingback: Random acts of sewing « HandmadebyClaireBear

  2. quirky March 12, 2012 at 09:42

    Thanks for the link! 🙂

  3. ilona November 12, 2012 at 16:14

    Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Taking the time and actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done

