HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

favourite blogs – the long thread


Another blog that I started following long before I started blogging myself is The Long Thread .

It’s well laid out, easy to see what’s there, there are links to tutorials on other blogs as well as on The Long Thread. I’m constantly finding new stuff on it that helps me, whatever my project. Ellen has a great eye for colour (important for me ) and an easy writing style (important for dyslexic me) and lots of photos (fun for me).

Ellen has even written a book, 1,2,3, Sew and is writing her second 1,2,3 Quilt (guess what that one’s going to be about)

Look at this photo

Don’t you love her style? I wish my photos were as good as hers (I wish my house had stairs like this as well, but that’s another story).

I love this bag of hers:

and I want to make it, but it’ll have to wait until I’ve finished some of my WIPs.

I love this pencil case of hers, too:

cllick to see the tutorial on The Long Thread

I’m thinking of making two for my aunt-in-australia (aka: my godmother, my favourite aunt), who is an artist. I’ll probably make one for her brushes and another one for her pencils. I’ll use grown-up fabrics of course, or maybe not, live is too short to be a grown-up all the time.

Another two for my to-do list!

Busy ClaireBear

11 responses to “favourite blogs – the long thread

  1. Ellen January 7, 2012 at 14:23

    Thanks for featuring my blog! Your projects look great. I love to see what people are making! –Ellen

  2. Marti January 10, 2012 at 17:26

    I love her blog too. So many great ideas. (And I wish I had those stairs too. Not now, but when my knees still worked right.)

    • Handmade by Claire Bear January 10, 2012 at 19:05

      Me too, especially the bit about the knees 😦

    • Valentina March 1, 2012 at 11:27

      Viven, I have lots of tips for first timers First of all, make sure you invest in a rotary cutter and good cutting mat it is important to be exact with your cuts! Secondly, 1/4 seam allowances are important so that the seams of your block will line up when you start piecing them together there are some great sewing machine feet which have a cheater piece on them so that you can sew a straight 1/4 seam you should use a scrap and stitch a line, then measure the seam from the edge to be sure your needle is in the correct position then stitch away!!! Lastly, pressing your seams to one side (rather than open) will make your seams stronger. Pressing is different than ironing you want to be careful that you simple press down, then lift and move the iron because fabric stretches. If you take your time and press each seam before piecing blocks together, they will fit nice and smooth together. Good luck hope you’ll share your efforts!!

  3. BG January 12, 2012 at 19:18

    I have been reading the posts, and I pretty much agree with what Marti said.

  4. Anya Fariss February 6, 2012 at 17:49

    Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  5. Prajakta March 1, 2012 at 12:46

    You definitely deserve it – I can’t wait to see your finished quilts especially the second lot of fabrics which look a bit more boyish. It’s been amazing watching how quickly you’ve taken to quilting – your Zigzag quilt is fantastic. You have a lot more patience than I do!

  6. Vivien March 1, 2012 at 13:49

    That is simply exquisite! I love the colors and the design. Congratulations on a job well done.I actually visited my first quilt store yesterday with a friend who recently started quilting last Easter. The store had a super bowl sale: 25 fat quarters for $25. I couldn’t pass it up. I hope to play around and experiment with these inexpensive fabric pieces and then perhaps try my hand at a doll’s quilt a plenty big enough project for me. Do you have any quilting tips for a novice?

