HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

New Quiltalong – Craftsy Block of the Month


As I’ve almost completed my WIPs (apart from a huge bespoke quilt that I’ll tell you about in a few months’ time when I’ve got somewhere with it), so I’ve been looking around for a way of extending my quilting skills. I signed up for this Block of the Month course on Craftsy, mostly because it’s free. You get a video tutorial and a pdf with written instructions for 2 blocks every month.

I’ve decided to use fabric I already have in my stash to do it, so the whole year’s worth of blocks should be pretty cheap inexpensive to make into a quilt.

I’ve been wanting to use this Mono mini-bundle of fat quarters,

Mono fat quarter mini-bundle in Claire Bear Shop on Etsy, 100% cotton, £5 plus shipping.

click to see other items in my shop

that I stock in my  Claire Bear Shop  on Etsy, for ages. I have quite a bit of the pattern fabric and more grey and black in my stash, obviously.

Being me I couldn’t use grey on its own, so I decided to add some of the plain cotton in my stash. After two days of looking at a pile on my coffee table, I have settled on the fabrics below to add a restrained,  fruity splash of colour to my monochrome quilt.

I see pear, lime, lemon, apricot, pale peach and nectarine. I can't stop looking at this combination of colours, it's so pretty!

The proportions of colour in this quilt are going to be; mostly monochrome (white/grey/black) with a just flash of colour in most of the blocks but not all of them (aren’t I being restrained?) I’ll keep you posted throughout the year, so you can see how I get on (or not).

This will not end up being mostly colour with a bit of monochrome. Definitely not.

I can do this!! And yes, I will iron everything first. Promise.

Happy Claire Bear

8 responses to “New Quiltalong – Craftsy Block of the Month

  1. Eakins January 28, 2012 at 12:37

    I’m impressed, I must say. I am very happy that I found this.

  2. jon February 1, 2012 at 08:21

    Aw, this was a really nice post. You take and lot of time and precise effort to make a very good article… however what can I say… I procrastinate a lot too and in no way appear to get anything done.

    • Handmade by Claire Bear February 2, 2012 at 09:20

      I can be queen of procrastination too, Jon. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one!

      • Paul March 1, 2012 at 08:09

        I’m actually in the process of making three of these right now for my three daughters. Many of their clothes have been hand-me-downs so a bunch of them have been worn out and headed for the garbage. As I’ve been sorting through the clothes I made a stack for donation (stuff still in good shape) and a stack for the garbage (stained, torn, etc.). I used the garbage stack for the quilts. I had enough that I got plenty of usable squares even chucking the bad ones. I divided each matching stack into three piles so each quilt will have mostly similar squares. For the border I used some sheets I found on sale that I loved — a fun striped cotton. Then got a basic color to alternate with the stripes in a larger square for the border. This will help them really know whose is whose. They love looking over the squares since they’re old enough to remember a lot of the pieces (ages 8, 6, and 4).

        • Handmade by Claire Bear March 1, 2012 at 09:48

          I wish I’d kept more of my children’s clothes so I could do this, but I had a clearing out a couple of years ago and most of their old clothes went. Good Luck with your memory quilts, Paul.

  3. Denyse May 7, 2012 at 20:31

    Great Post!

