HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Block of the Month – January


A you may already know I am following Craftsy’s Block of the Month e-course as a quiltalong,  using fabrics I already have in my stash.

Here is the fabric I am using up:

some plain cottons and the Mono mini-bundle that I sell in my supplies shop on Etsy (Claire Bear Shop).

Here are the two blocks for January:

an asterisk and a wonky pound sign.

And (drum-roll please) here are my two completed blocks:

Photographically, not my best, and yes, one is smaller than it’s supposed to be, but I’ve done both of these 3 times to get them right and I’m not doing either of them again! I’ll just add some sashing around the smaller one when I come to make up the quilt.  Needless to say, I now rock at slashing blocks and sewing in strips.

Here’s what I need to do for February:

a balkan puzzle (or windblown star) and a chunky chevron. I’ve already selected my fabrics and I’ve pressed then and cut out the squares, so I’m all set.

These are made using half-square triangles, which I hate because my seams always go wrong when I’m machine sewing on the bias. I read on the course question board that you can spray with spray starch before cutting on the  can help, so I’m adding a can of spray starch to my shopping list before I try these, and I’ll let you know how I get on.

See this quilting ruler that Amy Gibson uses to square up her blocks and get her diagonals true?

WANT!

( I know that Mr CB reads my blog, he’s really supportive like that, so I thought I’d give him some ideas for my birthday plus enough time to save up for it. I’d love a 12.2″ by 12.5″ square which they sell here at the Cotton Patch which is our local quilt shop)

I’ll give you an update on February’s month’s blocks in a month or so.

Wish me luck!

ClaireBear

5 responses to “Block of the Month – January

  1. Linda Steers February 4, 2012 at 13:13

    Good luck! I hate quilting… it’s tedious, fiddly and I’ve had friends who’ve been obsessive quilters who have put me right off ;o) On the other hand, some of the stuff that they’ve made is stunning, like Jackie’s wall hanging. Hope you enjoy. Lin X

    • Handmade by Claire Bear February 4, 2012 at 23:12

      Ah Lin, I’m not hand-sewing, so it all goes a lot quicker.
      I’m hoping that the discipline of making to someone else’s designs will improve my sewing skills. It’s going pretty well so far.
      Thanks
      Claire

  2. Pingback: Block of the Month – February « HandmadebyClaireBear

  3. Pingback: Block of the Month – March « HandmadebyClaireBear

  4. Pingback: Block of the Month – April « HandmadebyClaireBear

