HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Live and learn


I thought I’d update you all (and make notes for myself so that I don’t forget) what I have learned from the projects I have completed recently, and from the Craftsy Block of the Month that I am working on as a quiltalong.

Notes to Self

  1. Measure your pieces, especially when stitching HST’s into squares. If you don’t you will get squares the wrong size, see also 2.
  2. Do the Math. If you want to end up with a 12.5″ block, and it will be 4 squares across, each individual square needs to be 3″ across after stitching. A 15″ block just has to be ripped apart and done again. See also 3.
  3. Look after your tools. A 2 by 20″ rule is no use with a big gouge out of one of the long sides.
  4. You need light to sew by. Fix the clamp on the anglepoise and replace the lightbulb in your sewing machine. Stop procrastinating and get on with it.
  5. Learn how to maintain your sewing machine. And then DO IT! Clean it before you start every new project.
  6. Sort out your needles and then use the right one for the job. When you can find them, they’ll do a better job than just sticking with whatever is in there from last time.
  7. Use a small stitch, especially when stitching quilting fabrics. If you don’t, they will unravel once the block is finished.
  8. Clean your iron. Steam rocks!

Please bear in mind the title of the list, and that when I write “you” I mean me.

Sorry no photos this post. You don’t want to see the (hideous) mistakes that prompted me to write this list.

Oh no you don’t.

Claire Bear

Comments are closed.

