HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Block of the Month – February


A you may already know I am following Craftsy’s Block of the Month e-course as a quiltalong,  using fabrics I already have in my stash.

Here is the fabric I am using up:

some plain cottons and the Mono mini-bundle that I sell in my supplies shop on Etsy (Claire Bear Shop).

Here are the two blocks for February:

a balkan puzzle (or windblown star) and a chunky chevron.

And (drum-roll please) here are my two completed blocks:

Again, one is slightly smaller than it’s supposed to be, but I’m getting closer on the sizing and this is supposed to be a learning experience for me. You don’t want to know how many times I unpicked the balkan puzzle (on the right) because the triangles were in the wrong order, or the points didn’t match. Even if you do want to know, I’m not going to tell you, but it was quite a few times. Worth it though.

I was concerned about sewing on the bias, as it hasn’t worked well for me in the past. I had planned to use spray starch to stabilise the fabric before sewing, but I didn’t get around to buying any. Sewing these blocks using the “draw a diagonal line and sew either side of it” method worked really well for me, and is now my go-to method of sewing on the bias.

Here’s what I need to do for March:

A string block and a broken spiderweb.

Is it sad that I’ve finished these already (on the second of the month)?

You’ll have to wait until the beginning of April to see them unless you hop over to my flickr page.

ClaireBear

See January’s BOM here

16 responses to “Block of the Month – February

  1. January March 13, 2012 at 02:03

    I’m stopping by from the small blog meet. I’m also doing the Craftsy BOM and I’m loving it as well. I love your February Blocks, they look great!! I really like the grey and white. I still need to finish the chunky chevron before I get busy on the March blocks. Hopefully I can get on them this week. I’m excited to follow you and check out more of your blog. I would love for you to stop by my blog when you get the chance sewsewgo.blogspot.com I hope your having a wonderful day!!

  2. Pingback: Block of the Month – March « HandmadebyClaireBear

  3. Linderman April 11, 2012 at 02:36

    I think this is a real great blog article.Much thanks again. Cool.

  4. Woosley April 17, 2012 at 07:41

    Really informative article post.Much thanks again. Will read on…

    • Felicity June 10, 2012 at 13:02

      When I was growing up I loved to play Lego with my brothers. Mum got sick of either standing on or clogging her vacuum with Lego bricks and made us a storage container out of big blanket with eyelets around the edge threaded with cord. When we wanted to play we loosened the cord and created all sorts of wondrous things on the mat. When playtime was ‘up’ we just shoved it all back into the middle, gathered up the cords and it was a done deal. Felicity x[]

  5. Pingback: Block of the Month – April « HandmadebyClaireBear

  6. Pingback: Block of the Month – May « HandmadebyClaireBear

  7. Paige Burdeshaw February 24, 2013 at 04:02

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  8. Krystle March 24, 2013 at 06:29

    You should take part in a contest for one of the highest quality websites on the
    internet. I’m going to recommend this blog!

  9. Natasha Farnes April 20, 2013 at 12:10

    I wanted to thank you for your time for this terrific read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff on your website.

  10. Neat Guy July 12, 2013 at 07:13

    You’re probably about right but what about the last one you posted not long ago that was slightly different?

    • Handmade by Claire Bear July 26, 2013 at 07:30

      Hi, Neat Guy,
      you mean the January block? Well it’s still sitting around here somewhere, you can find all of the blocks I’ve finished by putting “BOM” in the search bar on the left of this page.
      Thanks
      ClaireBear

  11. msvcp100.dll July 16, 2013 at 09:34

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful article. Many thanks for supplying this information.

  12. website September 25, 2013 at 07:12

    I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading very slow for me.

    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end?

    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

