HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Mother’s Day and a Beautiful Blogger Award


This is a dual purpose post: Mother’s Day stuff at the beginning and a little award I got this week at the end.
Mother’s Day

Yesterday, I got a phone call from my Mum thanking me for her Mother’s Day present that I posted to her earlier in the week (for the benefit of my non-uk readers, today is Mother’s Day in the UK, I know some of you have Mother’s Day at a different time of year).

You may have guessed that I’m a sewing kinda gal, but Mum is more of a Mad Knitter, so I made her a knitting needle version of the crochet hook roll that I blogged about a little while ago, as well as a sewing needle book to keep all of her sewing and knitting needles in one place (ok, two places).

What you can’t see in this photo is a little pocket that I put in for circular needles and other stuff that won’t fit in knitting needle slots.

The exterior fabric for both is  a Designers’ Guild light-upholstery fabric called Peaweed that I already know that my Mum likes, because I made an apron out of it for her birthday present just before New Year.

The felt pages in the sewing needle book are a wool-blend, because wool is good for your sewing needles, and the buttons came from my stash and are just cute.

I made several sewing needle books at the same time as Mum’s.  I’ve been intending for ages to make some needlebooks to sell on Etsy, and as I was in a sewing mood…

If you follow my Facebook page, you’ll have seen them already:

One has been snapped up already, before I’ve even managed to list them in my Etsy shop and the other two will be listed there as soon as soon as I can.

Mum was very happy about her new needle organisers told me that she has no excuse now for not getting her needles organised.

Now for something completely different.

I had a comment left on my blog earlier this week:

Hi – I’ve just nominated you for ‘Beautiful Blogger Award’ – it’s posted on my blog. thank you for your lovely blog and your support and feedback. x

When I clicked through to Nice Things in my Life’s blog I found this nomination:

“HandmadebyClaireBear for her beautiful quilts and inspiration”

I was stunned (I still am).

Me? Inspiring? Who knew I could do that? (While we’re on the subject, I don’t know how I got 217 people to like my facebook page either.)

I want to say a big thank you to nicethingsinmylife for nominating me for this award. I didn’t expect my  blog to be popular: after a year of blogging I still feel like a newbie.

INSTRUCTIONS OF THE AWARD:

1. Thank the person who nominated you – see above!

2. Paste the award on your blog – see above!

3. Link the person who nominated you for the award nicethingsinmylife

4. Nominate 7 blogs or less! – see below

5. Post links to the blogs you nominate! – also below

I am nominating:

  1. Raspberry
  2. Grosgrain
  3. Em Ay Kay Ee(make)
  4. The Purl Bee
  5. The Long Thread
  6. Very Berry Handmade and
  7. Stumbles and Stitches

I’m nominating all of these blogs for their beautiful photos, inspirational writing,  helpful and friendly how-to’s, and practical tutorials.  I am guided by their professionalism and high blogging standards.

Still Stunned Claire Bear

12 responses to “Mother’s Day and a Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. Angel Funk March 18, 2012 at 12:58

    Thank you so much for the nomination for “Beautiful Blogger”!

  2. reneeboomer March 18, 2012 at 21:25

    Thank you so much for the ‘pingback’ and Congratulations to you on the Beautiful Blogger award. I have enjoyed looking around and will be back soon. Have a super day. 🙂

  3. Mayris March 18, 2012 at 23:01

    well-deserved award 😀

  4. Karen March 19, 2012 at 21:49

    What a lovely gift for your mom! Congratulations on your award!

  5. Lokal March 20, 2012 at 17:29

    Excellent article. I certainly love this site.
    Continue the good work!

  6. byhisgrace211 March 20, 2012 at 19:25

    Thank you for the mention! God bless!

  7. Oh Sew Tempting March 26, 2012 at 21:52

    I’ve never tried to make a needle book before but I suddenly need one 🙂
    My sister made a cross stitch one when she was at school and my Mum still uses it. I’m going to try to make one soon! Thanks for the idea 🙂

