HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Sewing outside the lines – take 2


Although I have dedicated this weekend to repainting my entire house (well, that’s what it feels like), I couldn’t resist playing with some spare cotton from an old sheet, a huge embroidery hoop, and lots of ends-of-reels-of-thread on my sewing machine.

Better than my first attempt, doncha think? (you can tell I started with the green, can’t you?).

Yes, my name now has two little hearts above it, I wasn’t paying enough attention when I did the first one, which turned out to be over the “r” instead of the “i”.

Oops.

This turned out a lot more fun that I thought it would be. I still have some issues to work on, but the hoop helps a lot.

Highly caffeinated Claire Bear

5 responses to “Sewing outside the lines – take 2

  1. Linzi - Homely Missus May 7, 2012 at 09:49

    That is lovely, the writing is great, I always found that tricky but then my handwriting is a disgrace! You will find you will improve quickly, and that it is really, really addictive! Keep it up, you’ll soon be embroidering everything you can get your hands on!

  2. Handmade by Claire Bear May 10, 2012 at 10:26

    I like my little houses and the pink circles, and the yellow (that didn’t come out very well in the photo) spirals. I’m also very impressed with myself for writing my name (almost identically to how I write it in birthday cards and the like). As you can tell, I’m still very impressed with myself.

  3. Cristopher June 10, 2012 at 23:11

    Is it necessary to wash fabric for a table runner if both sides are 100% cotton. Also, if I don’t want to use the bulkier quilting batting, what else would you recommend to add a touch of body? Thanks

    • Handmade by Claire Bear June 11, 2012 at 12:04

      Yes and no. If you don’t mind the runner shrinking in the wash after you’ve made it, and all of the fabric used in it are the same (eg, all cotton, all polyester or all silk) then you don’t need to wash it before making it. Some fabric types shrink when wet, some don’t and the one that do shrink at different rates.
      If you are using different fabrics, or it’s important to you that it doesn’t shrink in the wash, then always wash the fabrics before cutting them and making them up.
      I always wash my fabrics beforehand so that I don’t have to worry about shrinkage.
      I hope this helps.
      ClaireBear

