HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

I wanna new bag….


and I don’t have time to sew one.

This afternoon I’m going to an outdoor event near Milton Keynes and we’re staying with friends (who I haven’t seen for ages, although we chat on facebook a lot) overnight. Last night I suddenly decided I wanted a new bag to take to the event today, but as it was 9pm it needed to be quick and simple (but gorgeous, obviously).

So after googling for bags, and finding a few that I liked, I looked up and found it was 11pm. Too late for sewing ( I have neighbours, they have babies who don’t cry all night).

Now I’d heard of some Japanese fabric folding technique that you can use to wrap gifts and make bags that I thought could be the way to go, especially as the weather this week hasn’t been the best (good for the gardens, good for ducks, not great for outdoor events). I remembered that I have some ripstop nylon (make kites, cheap tents and rain macs) in purple, that could be just the thing. It’s not quite waterproof, but will probably withstand a bit of wet while I get out of the rain.

I also found this tutorial on the-japanese-art-of-folding-and-tying-fabric-to-make-bags (Furoshiki) on Craft Envy (click photo to read her tutorial)

I spent the awake part of last night working out how to put one of my denim corasages on my bag without putting holes in the ripstop. I think I have it worked out now.

Mr CB has arrived to whisk me off to the soggy afternoon already, and I’m packed, but have no shoulder bag yet. This could be the quickest ClaireBear make yet! I’ll post a photo when I get a chance, wish me luck.

ClaireBear

7 responses to “I wanna new bag….

  1. Robyn G May 20, 2012 at 09:49

    This sounds like fun! Instant bag!!

  2. Pingback: I wanna new bag….part 2 « HandmadebyClaireBear

  3. Pingback: Take one boring shopping bag…the reveal! | HandmadebyClaireBear

