HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

It’s my birthday and I’ll be happy if I want to


I got up from the chair in front of my computer this morning (very slowly and a bit painfully) and I thought: “I’m going to blog about me today”.

It’s that time of year when I run out of fingers and toes when counting my new age, again. I’m a year older than Andre Aggassi, Kelly Holmes, Macy Gray and  Uma Thurman,  and a year younger than singers Kylie Minogue  and Anastasia.

The day I was born: The Beatles “Get Back” was number 1 in the UK music charts, Patrick Troughton was Doctor Who.  Seven  weeks later, man set foot on the moon for the first time: a few months later the Woodstock Festival happened.  Sesame Street and Scooby-Doo  were aired for the first time.   Harold Wilson was in Number 10, Nixon was in the White House, US troops were still in Vietnam. A few months before, Elvis has just recorded “Suspicious Minds”. The Beatles had already played their last live performance,  on the roof of  Apple Studios. Concorde had just had its first test flight.

Yes. I’m that old.

I’m definitely starting to enjoy my birthdays rather than being disappointed by them (ages 15 to 37), or dreading them (ages 28 to 31, and 36 to 39). Has the occasion changed or have I?

Me, definitely me.

I’ve learnt to ask for what I want, to say no to what I don’t want, and I’ve found (and hung on to) people who are happy to hug me on “National Claire Day”. As you may have spotted in my posts, I’ve had a child and work-stress free year (almost a year) now that my children are both away at university (proud Mom moment, sorry), so I’ve had a lot of time to think, and work things out in my head.

I’m a lot more together today than I have been for years, and more content too.  I’ve accepted myself (cliché moment, I know) and I’m working with what I’ve got (or with what I am) instead of trying to be the same as everyone else. I’m never going to be great at remembering things (apart from completely random and useless stuff) so I’ve stopped trying to remember and trained myself to record the important stuff instead.

I now take (lots of) pleasure in (lots of) little things and have let go of a lot of the “stuff” that was making me unhappy. OMG, I’ve finally grown-up!  🙂

One of my friends sent me this:

If you want to see other things that make me happy, just click on the links to my facebook page or my etsy favourites and you’ll see lots of things that put a smile on my face.

I’m being taken out to dinner tonight by my fiancé, Mr CB, so I’m off to get myself dressed up.

Happy (43-year-old) ClaireBear

Aging Sucks (catatonicinmyhead.wordpress.com) my heart goes out to her, I used to be incredibly disappointed too
Happy Birthday to me (oldmdgirl.blogspot.com)
Birthdays are good for you (captainofthissurvivorship.wordpress.com)
Happy Birthday Astrid! (kipsoton.wordpress.com)

My birthday last year

Happy Birthday to me (living in interesting times)

28 responses to “It’s my birthday and I’ll be happy if I want to

  1. Oh Sew Tempting May 31, 2012 at 22:45

    It’s just a number. How you feel is most important. The only age related scary moments I have are about “Where did that year go” and “Surely it can’t be ten years since……”
    Happy birthday Claire Bear 🙂 Avis x

    • Handmade by Claire Bear June 1, 2012 at 11:37

      I had a major freak-out over my age back when I was in my late 20’s. I couldn’t even admit to being 29, because that meant that it was only a year before I was 30. For some reason turning 30 was a huge thing.
      By comparison 40 was easy and I don’t mind about my age now, possibly because no-one can ever believe how old I am. Suggestions are usually 3 to 5 years under my age, and I’m happy that I don’t look (of act) like an old crone.
      I suppose I’m now of the option that birthdays are an indicator of survival, and a great alternative to not being alive.
      Thanks for commenting. I completely agree about “where did the time go, surely it can’t be that long since…”
      ClaireBear

  2. Carolyn June 2, 2012 at 00:16

    Happy Birthday for yesterday Claire. 🙂 Hope you had a lovely day. A nice philosophical piece for your blog… and why not, they are personal after all. 🙂 I like to look at it as in chapters of your life rather than age. And it sounds like you’re in a good place right now. 🙂 Time for some Claire time.

    P.s. Lovely photo of you. 🙂 xx

  3. Pingback: HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME (living in interesting times) « HandmadebyClaireBear

  4. Baier June 16, 2012 at 14:12

    without a doubt several points that I had not thought of before.

  5. Brittany Clepper June 24, 2012 at 19:14

    Excellent site you’ve got here.. It’s difficult to find good quality writing like yours these days. I really appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  6. Neoma Lamorte June 25, 2012 at 21:25

    I’m still learning from you, but I’m trying to reach my goals. I absolutely enjoy reading everything that is posted on your website.Keep the tips coming. I enjoyed it!

  7. Kevin Friedt June 28, 2012 at 22:01

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Terrific blog and wonderful style and design.

  8. Drye July 5, 2012 at 12:08

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Thanks

  9. Genaro Palencia July 6, 2012 at 09:23

    Hello! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

  10. Meidlinger July 6, 2012 at 15:19

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  11. Gertha Bruch July 15, 2012 at 09:03

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  12. Lakendra Riogas August 22, 2012 at 00:19

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Thanks a lot!

    • Handmade by Claire Bear August 25, 2012 at 10:34

      Hi Lakendra,
      I can’t remove you from the comments subscription, but you can!
      Open one of the notification emails, scroll to the bottom and click where it says “change my subscription” this will take you to the WordPress page where you can choose the appropriate selection in the drop-down box next to “HandmadebyClaireBear”.
      (I have also emailed these instructions to you, but the email bounced back as undeliverable)
      Hope this helps.
      ClaireBear

  13. SMSlån November 20, 2012 at 13:16

    I really like this post. Best read in a very long time. Hopefully you will keep write such as this!

  14. Nicholas Hollingworth December 14, 2012 at 09:52

    Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!

  15. Sherril Gallager December 23, 2012 at 09:24

    Hi there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and superb design and style.

  16. Clifford Baker January 9, 2013 at 07:22

    You love to share great info, many thanks. Amazing tips.

  17. Stormy February 15, 2013 at 07:45

    I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely
    loved every little bit of it. I’ve got you saved as a favorite to look at new things you post…

  18. Ronny Voegele February 24, 2013 at 02:11

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the website is also very good.

  19. Melissia Chirico April 17, 2013 at 23:28

    You have a lot of useful pointers on this site. This is a well composed article that I have bookmarked for future reading. Have a fun.

  20. Alyssa July 21, 2013 at 20:06

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would
    cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

    • Handmade by Claire Bear July 26, 2013 at 07:33

      Hi Alyssa,
      I started this blog by clicking at the bottom of someone else’s wordpress blog and following the guidance. You could also use blogger (a google company, which means it will be connected to your gmail account) or looking at this webpage http://www.howtostartablog.org and making your own decisions.
      good luck
      ClaireBear

