HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

For me – one completed bathmat


As soon as I saw the Cathedral Window Playmat on Amy Gibson’s blog, Stichery Dickery Dock I knew that it was what I wanted as a bathmat for my tiny bathroom.

Although I’ve always admired quilt with circles in and Cathederal Windows blocks in particular, I’ve never done them in any quilt before because circles or curves of any type scare the *** out of me.

I’ve got to say the Amy is a fabulous tutorial writer, but then I should have know that because I’m following her Craftsy Block of the Month course (which I’m hopelessly behind on, but we won’t go there).

Viola, one Cathedral Windows Bathmat, started and finished within 24 hours and I slept for some of that!

I had to wash the print fabric because the cotton towelling I was using was upcycled from a spare bath sheet. I ironed it all properly, and used a dinner plate to cut out the circles. I cut too many circles, it turns out I cut 12 towelling circles when I only needed 9 and I still don’t know what to do with the 9 circles I cut from the stripe fabric.

After posting about this project yesterday, I decided to use the batik print that I love so much (please ignore the state of my bathroom tiles, this is a sewing blog not a diy blog after all!):

Note to self: get larger dinner plates, this would be fab with bigger circles! Also, sewing this with towelling as a backing is harder than I thought, that’s probably why it’s a little wonky. It also probably needs ironing, but is that going to happen?

I’m glad that I decided to do this. I love my new bathmat and I don’t care what anyone else thinks (although if you think it’s lovely too, I wouldn’t mind being told).

I love my new bathmat  🙂

ClaireBear

3 responses to “For me – one completed bathmat

  1. Pingback: No sew zone « HandmadebyClaireBear

  2. Mary in FL February 25, 2013 at 01:11

    I like your bathmat take on the play mat!

    I found you when re-finding the small purse pattern here: http://www.allpeoplequilt.com/projects-ideas/bags-pillows/free-bag-patterns_ss11.html

