HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

Blast from the Past – Buttons


I was browsing in a charity shop the other day, as is my wont, and I spotted a basket full of cards of buttons.

Of course, I had to buy some

Being me I couldn’t resist arranging them in colour order either (spot orange making a rare appearance?).

Aren’t they pretty? Even though the tops have been cut off, I still recognise the brand (Aero) from the 1970’s when my mum and my gran used to knit jumpers and cardigans in the evenings.
This photo brings back memories of hand-knitted cardigans in scratchy wool. The best thing about them, then, was being allowed to choose the new buttons for my new cardi. Mum knitted like a demon too, the yarn went from shop to being sewn up in a few weeks (mind you I was a bit smaller then too).

Not bad for £3.

Happy Sunday

ClaireBear

4 responses to “Blast from the Past – Buttons

  1. lista de email September 28, 2012 at 16:50

    nice post i like it a lot.

  2. kimberly August 19, 2013 at 15:59

    I spend my half an hour break to read this weblog’s articles all the time along with a mug of coffee.

  3. luis October 8, 2013 at 15:03

    Excellent post. I certainly love this site. Keep writing!

  4. Jonathon March 18, 2014 at 04:24

    Hеllo, just wantеd to tell you, I liked this bloց post.
    It was practical. Keep оn posting!

